Juliet Scrap Yarn Blanket Pattern

Hi, friends! I recently began crocheting the Juliet Blanket, & I am loving the lightweight feel for Spring & Summer. This size works great for a child or as an adult lap blanket. I think it would also make a great travel blanket! Although I haven’t completed the blanket, I thought I’d share what I’ve done so far so you guys can crochet along with me if you want. Please tag me in your photos on Instagram (@kimmiescrochet) so I can see your work!

Materials:

  • Scrap Yarn (I used cotton yarn, acrylic should work fine as well)
  • G Hook, 4.25mm
  • Yarn Needle
  • Scissors 

Stitches:

  • SC (single crochet)
  • DC (double crochet)
  • CS (chain stitch); ch (chain)

Notes:

  • Chain one to begin each new row of SC.
  • Chain four to begin each new row of CH 1, Skip 1, DC.
  • We complete two rows of SC and then three rows of CH 1, Skip 1, DC. Repeat this pattern until you reach the desired length for your blanket. 
  • If desired, do a color change as you change the rows from SC to CH 1, Skip 1, DC.

Pattern:

  • Slip knot around your hook to begin.
  • Chain 100.
  • Row 1: SC in 2nd chain from the hook & in each CS for a total of 99 stitches. 
  • Row 2: Chain one to begin a new row & SC, 99 stitches.
  • Rows 3-5: (Change to 2nd color if desired.) Chain 4 to begin a new row. Skip CS & 1st stitch & DC into the 2nd stitch from the chain. *CH 1, Skip 1, DC* for the remainder of the row. Repeat for rows 4 & 5, chaining 4 to begin each new row. Each row should have 50 DC stitches (counting the chain 4 at the beginning of the rows), 49 CS.
  • Rows 6 & 7: (Color Change) Chain 1 to begin, SC 99 stitches. Repeat for row 7.
  • Rows 8-10:  (Color Change) Chain 4 to begin a new row. Skip CS & 1st stitch & DC into the 2nd stitch from the chain. *CH 1, Skip 1, DC* for the remainder of the row. Repeat for rows 9 & 10, chaining 4 to begin each new row.
  • Rows 11 & 12: (Color Change) Chain 1 to begin, SC 99 stitches. Repeat for row 12.
  • Repeat this pattern until you reach desired length for blanket. As stated above, I haven’t finished my blanket yet so I’m unsure of how many rows to add, but I’ll keep you guys updated with my progress on Instagram.
  • Add desired border.
  • Sew in & trim ends.

Update as of July 16th 😀

Update as of August 10th:

Almost complete!
Please email thebowblog@hotmail.com if there is a mistake in the pattern or if you have questions. Thanks so much for trying my pattern with me! I hope y’all enjoy it as much as I am!! 

Xo,

Kim 🎀

Leave a Reply

